UK Marks 70th Anniversary of UN Declaration of Human Rights

Minister for Human Rights Lord Tariq Ahmad of Wimbledon hosted a panel discussion to mark the 70th anniversary of the UN Declaration of Human Rights.


On the 70th anniversary of the UN Declaration of Human Rights the Minister for Human Rights Lord Tariq Ahmad of Wimbledon, hosted a panel discussion with Human Rights Defenders Dina Meza and Wanjeri Nderu, alongside Kate Allen, Director of Amnesty International UK. The meeting focussed on Human Rights Defenders who stand up for the rights of all persecuted communities around the world.

To mark the 20th anniversary of the Declaration on Human Rights Defenders, the UK supported over 240 Human Rights Defenders, training them in self-protection and collective protection strategies and providing legal assistance for their cases.

Britain is a global defender of human rights, fundamental freedoms, and democratic values, and has championed campaigns to end modern slavery and human trafficking, to prevent sexual violence in conflict, and to ensure at least 12 years of quality education for girls.

It was also announced that the UK will co-chair the Equal Rights Coalition in partnership with Argentina from June 2019.

Minster for Human Rights, Lord Tariq Ahmad of Wimbledon, said:

It is a modern tragedy that there are people in same-sex relationships around the world who are discriminated against, persecuted, and tortured because of their gender, faith, creed or sexual orientation.

Britain will continue to defend human rights, stand up for our values, and for the rights of communities who suffer around the world.


  • The UK’s co-chairmanship will begin in June 2019 and last for two years.
  • The Equal Rights Coalition includes the United Kingdom, Albania, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Canada, Cape Verde, Chile, Costa Rica, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Honduras, Iceland, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Mexico, Montenegro, Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Ukraine, United States of America, Uruguay in working toward a vision of equality regardless of sexual orientation or gender identity.

/Public Release. View in full here.