2020 NT Sports Awards Winners Announced

NT Government

The Territory’s elite sportspeople were celebrated at the 2020 NT Sports Awards last night.

The NT Sports Awards recognise the outstanding achievements of Territory athletes, coaches, sporting officials and volunteers.

Fifteen awards were presented at the event with cricketer Kane Richardson awarded the top honour of NT Sportsperson of the Year.

Kane competed in the 2019 ICC One Day International Cricket World Cup, the highest level of cricket in one day competition. He also competed in the 2019 Gillette T20 International Series, the 2019 Qantas Tour of the United Arab Emirates and the Big Bash League. Kane was named in the 2020 Australian One Day International squad. Throughout the 2018-19 Big Bash Tournament, Kane was the leading wicket taker and part of the winning Melbourne Renegades team.

Shadeene Evans was awarded NT Junior Sportsperson of the Year. Shadeene began playing football in her remote community of Borroloola, with her love of football and motivation to strive for excellence in her sport has seen Shadeene be recognised for her talents on the national stage. Currently, Shadeene plays for the Sydney Football Club in the National Women’s League and represents Australia in the Young Matildas team. She was also named the vice-captain of the Young Matildas team that played the AFC U19 Women’s Championships in Thailand.

Bo de la Cruz was awarded NT Masters Sportsperson of the Year. Bo competed in the 2019 Touch Football World Cup, the highest level of competition for the sport, in the Over 35 Women’s competition. Bo captained the Over 35 Women’s team and was a major influence in the side that went on to win the World Cup. In addition, Bo also coached and captained the Australian Indigenous Mixed Open team in a match against the Maori Mixed Open Team during 2019. The game was played as a curtain raiser to the NRL Indigenous All Stars match.

Other 2020 NT Sport Award winners are:

  • NT Thunder Inclusion Team, AFL – NT Team of the Year
  • Timothy Few, Swimming – Eric Johnston Coach of the Year
  • Leanne Usher, Tennis – NT Official of the Year
  • Donna Hurst, Basketball – NT Volunteer of the Year
  • Southern Districts Cricket Club Premier Grade Team – NT Local Performance of the Year
  • Hamish MacDonald OAM, Athletics – 2020 NT Hall of Champions
  • Michael McLean, AFL – 2021 NT Hall of Champions
  • Teri Cubillo, Basketball – 2020 NT Roll of Honour
  • Grant Hamon, Motorsport – 2020 NT Roll of Honour
  • Gordon Clarke, Hockey – 2021 NT Roll of Honour
  • William Chambers, NRL – 2020 Steve Abala Role Model (the Administrator’s Medal)
  • Emma Kraft, Athletics – 2021 Steve Abala Role Model (the Administrator’s Medal)

As stated by Minister for Sport, Kate Worden

“Territorians are showcasing their talent and skills across a range of sports at local, national and international levels. The NT Sports Awards provides an opportunity to acknowledge those who excel in their chosen fields.

“The achievements of our athletes wouldn’t be possible without community support, ranging from our wonderful volunteers, parents supporting children’s weekend games to those training our professional athletes. Everyone who is involved in the Territory sporting community plays a role in its success.

“The NT Government continues to support the Territory sports community through ongoing grants, sporting facilities and Territory-based competitions.

“I would like to congratulate this year’s winners, nominees and finalists. Their diligence, passion and commitment to sport instils a sense of pride in all Territorians”.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.