Australia Honours Leaders in Philanthropy, Business, Arts

Creative Australia

Creative Australia has acknowledged the recipients of the 2024 Partnership Awards at a ceremony at the State Library of New South Wales this evening (Tuesday 18 June).

The awards celebrate exemplary individuals from Australia's philanthropy, business and arts sectors who show leadership in private giving, philanthropy and business partnerships with the arts.

The award recipients are inspiring advocates who encourage others to give to the arts. Their generosity contributes to the social impact the creative industries make on the lives of Australians.

The Partnership Awards were transferred to Creative Australia as part of the integration of Creative Partnerships Australia functions and funding in the National Cultural Policy.

Minister for the Arts Tony Burke said:

"Our Partnership Awards recognise some remarkable people who actively champion arts partnerships and investment. They generously create opportunities and access to the arts for all Australians."

Creative Australia CEO Adrian Collette AM said:

"This year's inspiring Partnership Award recipients are committed leaders who actively collaborate to connect Australians with the creative sector. It is wonderful to see the vibrant possibilities when philanthropy and business support the arts."

Recipients of the 2024 Creative Australia Partnership Awards include:

Philanthropy Leadership Award: Meredith Hinchliffe AM

Arts advocate, writer and critic Meredith Hinchliffe is one of Canberra's most significant philanthropic forces, having helped to nurture and preserve a range of cultural institutions in the nation's capital. These include the National Museum of Australia, National Gallery of Australia, National Library of Australia, Craft + Design Canberra and Canberra Museum and Gallery.

Philanthropy Leadership Award: The James & Diana Ramsay Foundation

James and Diana Ramsay gave generously throughout their lifetimes, and in 2008 a foundation was created to continue this unflagging support. The James & Diana Ramsay Foundation is a champion for a robust arts sector, increasing accessibility and paving the way for viable career paths. The Foundation has funded in excess of $20m to over 220 projects.

Arts Leadership Award: Troy Casey and Amanda Hayman

Troy Casey (Kamilaroi) and Amanda Hayman (Kalkadoon/Wakka Wakka) have been driving forces in the Meeanjin/Magandgin/Brisbane arts scene. The First Nations creative professionals within the Blaklash, Aboriginal Art Co. and Magpie Goose teams underscore their collective approach and commitment to Indigenous agency within the arts and creative industries.

Business Leadership Award: Clive Scott AM

For more than half a century Clive Scott worked in the hotel industries across Australia and Asia. Clive's active and vocal support of Melbourne's arts community has long made him a vital component of the city's rich cultural tapestry. Under Clive's guidance, Sofitel has provided support for the arts that exceeds that of any other hotel in Australia.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).