Awards a chance to celebrate excellent public education staff and volunteers

This year public education staff and volunteers have gone above and beyond to make sure our children get a great education no matter what challenges the community faces.

Tonight, the ACT Public Education Awards—one of my favourite events in Education, was a chance to reflect and celebrate the excellent people working across ACT public schools.

In a year like no other, it is important to continue to recognise the incredible achievements of teachers, school leaders, support staff and volunteers in delivering high quality education across Canberra’s public schools.

Schools are important community hubs and in uncertain times play a vital role in bringing people and resources together. This has been evident this year as each school provided, and continue to provide, that touchpoint for their local community.

Thank you to all school staff for their flexibility, innovation and responsiveness. And thank you for making sure every student is cared for, every student is learning, every student is getting the best possible education, no matter what.

The ACT Labor Government is committed to creating an equitable and inclusive education system for all Canberrans. Together with teachers and school staff, the government will continue to implement the Future of Education Strategy and the Set up for Success: An Early Childhood Strategy for the ACT.

The government will also continue to focus and investment in school leadership, teachers and the broader workforce because investing in teachers means investing in children.

This focus, along with the government’s significant investment in school infrastructure, will make sure that every school is a great school.

Congratulation to all the nominees and winners for the wonderful work they do each day.

The full list of categories and winners are:

Early Childhood Teacher of The Year

Morgan Holland, Miles Franklin Primary School

Primary Teacher of the Year

Peta Gai Faulkner, Gungahlin Primary Introductory English Centre

Secondary Teacher of the Year

Dr Roisin Boadle, Namadgi School

School Leaders of the Year

Mandy Kalyvas, Learning and Teaching, Policy and Design

Gareth Richards, Namadgi School

New Educator of the Year

Brianne Carrigy, Mount Stromlo High School

Leader of the Year in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education

Julie Mayhew, Turner School

Education Support Person of the Year

Michael Carnovale, UC SSC Lake Ginninderra

Volunteer of the Year

Kimberly Ingram, Evatt Primary School

Outstanding Partnership of the Year

Lisa Navarro-Bustos and Northside Community Service

Education Support Office Employee of the Year

Jean Walker, Student Engagement Team

Allied Health Professional

Alice Coen, Macgregor and Evatt primary schools

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.