Benalla Rural City 2022 Australia Day Award Winners

“Reflect. Respect. Celebrate. We’re all part of the story.”

Australia Day is a wonderful opportunity for all citizens of all backgrounds to come together and celebrate what we love about our country and what it means to be Australian.

The Benalla Rural City Australia Day Awards acknowledge the commitment, dedication and invaluable achievements of our many community members, who selflessly contribute, and make our Rural City such a special, positive, and vibrant place to call home.

Chair of the Benalla Rural City Australia Day Advisory Committee, Mayor Bernie Hearn today announced winners of Benalla Rural City’s Australia Day Awards. The Benalla Performing Arts and Convention Centre hosted celebrations from 10am where 30 nominees for awards were announced.

The award winners were:

  • Benalla Rural City Citizen of the Year – Dr Lee Manning
  • Benalla Rural City Citizen of the Year Merit Award – Janine Rofe
  • Benalla Rural City Young Citizen of the Year – Sophie Humphries
  • Community Event or Project of the Year – Molyullah Fish and Chip Night
  • Benalla Rural City Community Group of the Year – Devenish Makers Market District

Achievement awards were also presented:

  • Baddaginnie Achiever of the Year – Debbie Rees
  • Benalla Achiever of the Year – Liz Chapman OAM
  • Benalla Young Achiever of the Year – Will Smith
  • Devenish Achiever of the Year – Kevin Phipps
  • Goomalibee Achiever of the Year – Ewen McLean
  • Goorambat Achiever of the Year – Greg Gall
  • Molyullah Achiever of the Year – joint winners Russell Byrne and Diane Brosig
  • Thoona Achiever of the Year – Wallace Binnie
  • Winton Achiever of the Year – joint winners David and Wendy Webster

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.