Border restrictions expanded for NSW hotspots

Cross-border commuters are being requested to update their border declaration passes following the announcement of a new COVID-19 hotspot in New South Wales from Monday.

From 1am on July 27, anyone who has been in the local government area of Fairfield in the past 14 days will not be able to enter Queensland.

New South Wales local government areas of Liverpool or Campbelltown as well as the whole state of Victoria remain active COVID-19 hotspots.

With the new hotspot being added, cross-border residents should update their border pass to help reduce delays at police border checkpoints where vehicles displaying older passes, particularly those with NSW registration plates, will likely be stopped.

An email notification was issued today to local border pass-holders with information about updating their declaration pass.

Queensland’s border restrictions mean people who have been in a COVID-19 hotspot within the last 14 days will be turned away at the state’s border.

Queensland residents who have been in a COVID-19 hotspot can return home but will be required to quarantine in government provided accommodation at their expense.

Since July 3, anyone entering Queensland is required to complete a border declaration pass which is valid for seven days or until the person’s circumstances change.

Everyone entering the state must complete a Queensland Border Declaration Pass online before travelling to Queensland.

Police will continue to conduct random interceptions of those progressing through priority passage to ensure the validity of declarations.

Providing false information on the declaration or entering Queensland unlawfully could result in a $4,003 fine.

The Queensland Border Declaration Pass can be accessed at and is valid for seven days.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.