Bruny Island – historic site repairs and new toilets

Jacquie Petrusma,Liberal Member for Franklin

The construction of new toilets and a face lift for the historic Superintendent’s Cottage are part of a $330,000 investment by the Hodgman majority Liberal Government into better facilities on Bruny Island.

The new toilets at Cape Bruny Lighthouse, at South Bruny National Park, will help address concerns about access to amenities for locals and visitors at this popular historic site.

Visitor numbers to Cape Bruny Lighthouse have been increasing consistently over the past decade reaching about 160,000 last year.

Designed and built by Tasmanian companies Artas Architects and AJR Construct, the toilets have wheelchair access and fabrication work was largely undertaken offsite to minimise disruption at the site.

Sitting neatly amongst the 1920’s Lighthouse Keepers Quarters, the design incorporates horizontal weather boards and traditional roof lines in keeping with the historic site.

At another historic site at the northern end of the island, the Superintendent’s Cottage at the Bruny Island Quarantine Station has had a face lift. Built around 1916, maintenance work including a new roof and fresh coat of paint have helped to conserve this historically significant cottage.

The Hodgman Liberal Government understands the value of our National Parks which is why we are investing an unprecedented $31 million over four years to future-proof our parks infrastructure and enhance the experience for locals and visitors.

/Public Release. View in full here.