Congratulations to our 2020 Australia Day Award Winners


Northern Grampians Shire Council congratulates the 2020 winners of the Australia Day honours that were announced at two official events over the weekend.

Council also extends a heartfelt thank you to our Australia Day ambassador, Sally Tucker, whose energy and enthusiasm made the day especially memorable.

Each of our award-winners was recognised for their contributions to improving the livability of the shire and their tireless efforts in helping their fellow residents.

Here is the complete list of Australia Day award-winners:

Kara Kara Ward:

Senior Citizen of the Year: Franklin (Lin) Postlethwaite

Citizen of the Year: Jennifer Lanyon

Young Citizen of the Year: Belinda Burke

Community Event of the Year: St Arnaud Norm Simpson Memorial Pipe Band’s 70th Anniversary and 2019 Victorian Mini Pipe Band Championships

Stawell, South and Central Wards:

Local Hero: Ian “Daffy” O’Donnell

Young Citizen of the Year: Melissa Sanders

Community Event of the Year: Stawell Amazing Race

Citizen of the Year: Lois Johnson

Northern Grampians also welcomed a brand new Australian citizen during the official proceedings.

A warm welcome to Johannes Gerardus Nicholaas Antonius Koenen who made the citizenship pledge at Cato Park on the weekend.

Northern Grampians Shire Council Mayor, Murray Emerson, said the Australia Day events were a wonderful display of our connected communities.

“Thank you to every member of the community who attended events and showed their support for our national day,” he said.

“Each of our award winners represents the traits that make our region exceptional and I congratulate every one of them on their fantastic achievement.”

“Australia Day was a fantastic opportunity for all of us to come together and it was great to see different people from across the shire sharing the moment as one.”

See photos of the winners on our dedicated Australia Day webpage.

/Public Release. View in full here.