Experienced leadership crew to take controls at CASA

The Australian Government has today announced the appointment of a new Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and Director of Aviation Safety (DAS), and a new Chair of the Board of the Civil Aviation Safety Authority (CASA) – the statutory authority that regulates aviation safety in Australia.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack said Ms Pip Spence (CEO and DAS) and former Air Chief Marshal Mark Binskin, AC (Board Chair) would bring vast experience to these critical roles.

“These appointments are a critical part of shaping the makeup of the CASA Board and the culture of the organisation more broadly,” the Deputy Prime Minister said.

“The depth and breadth of experience that Ms Spence and Air Chief Marshal Binskin bring to bear show the Government is serious about ensuring CASA performs its critical role effectively.

“Their combined skills and experience will be essential for leading this critical regulator in keeping Australians safe while flying, as well as supporting an efficient, effective and reliable aviation industry – which is economically crucial for communities right across the nation.

“Ms Spence comes to CASA from a senior leadership position within the Department of Infrastructure, Transport, Regional Development and Communications. She offers substantial experience in aviation policy and regulation, as well as government administration and public policy – including a strong track record of leading organisational change.

“Air Chief Marshal Binskin brings outstanding leadership and expertise in both aviation and defence, including significant experience within general aviation.

“These appointments send a strong message about our commitment to high-quality leadership for Australia’s aviation safety regulator, while providing certainty to CASA personnel and industry.”

Ms Spence will commence in her new role in the coming weeks for a period of up to five years. Air Chief Marshal Binskin will commence in August for a period of three years, when the term of the current Chair concludes.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.