Gillette T20I Series squad announced

The National Selection Panel has named the T20 International Squad for the upcoming Gillette T20I Series against South Africa and India.

Marcus Stoinis and Jason Behrendorff have been included in the 13-player squad selected for four T20I games commencing on the Gold Coast on November 17.

Aaron Finch (c) – Melbourne Renegades

Alex Carey (vc) – Adelaide Strikers

Ashton Agar – Perth Scorchers

Jason Behrendorff – Perth Scorchers

Nathan Coulter-Nile – Perth Scorchers

Chris Lynn – Brisbane Heat

Glenn Maxwell – Melbourne Stars

Ben McDermott – Hobart Hurricanes

D’Arcy Short – Hobart Hurricanes

Billy Stanlake – Adelaide Strikers

Marcus Stoinis – Melbourne Stars

Andrew Tye – Perth Scorchers

Adam Zampa – Melbourne Stars

Bupa Support Team Head Coach and T20I National Selector, Justin Langer, said:

“We welcome Marcus Stoinis and Jason Behrendorff back into the T20 squad for the upcoming matches against South Africa and India.

“Marcus missed our recent T20 matches in the UAE because he hadn’t resumed bowling, but now he’s back to full fitness he’ll add great depth to the squad. Marcus is such a versatile player, he’s a powerful middle order batsman and he provides us with another solid bowling option.

“Jason Behrendorff has also earned a spot in the squad after returning to full fitness. It was exciting to see him bow well in the JLT Cup and in the recent Prime Minister’s XI match, and it gave us more evidence of how devastating he can be with the new ball. Tactically we believe it’s important to have a good left-arm swing bowler at our disposal for the four matches.”

Langer said the decision to leave senior players Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, Peter Siddle and Mitch Marsh out of the squad was based on a busy summer schedule ahead.

“We know coming off the back of the tour to the UAE, a huge summer at home, and the World Cup and Ashes just around the corner that we have to get the balance right between playing our best T20 team and preparing for the upcoming Test series.

“While I know all four have a desire to be playing cricket for Australia in every format, with a really tough Test series against India coming up, we believe their best preparation is to go back and get some really good cricket under their belts in the Sheffield Shield.”

In the build up to the Gillette T20 International Series, Behrendorff, Andrew Tye and Ben McDermott have also been included in the Cricket Australia XI side which will play South Africa in a T20 tour match on November 14 at Allan Border Field in Brisbane.

McDermott will captain the CA XI team, which includes Queensland young gun Max Bryant, and experienced Victoria leg-spinner Fawad Ahmed.

Cricket Australia XI squad

Ben McDermott (c) – Hobart Hurricanes

Fawad Ahmed – Sydney Thunder

Jason Behrendorff – Perth Scorchers

Max Bryant – Brisbane Heat

Ben Cutting – Brisbane Heat

Chris Green – Sydney Thunder

Matthew Kuhnemann – No BBL contract

Lachlan Pfeffer – No BBL contract

Alex Ross – Brisbane Heat

Gurinder Sandhu – Sydney Thunder

Kelvin Smith – No BBL contract

Andrew Tye – Perth Scorchers


Tour match – November 14

CA XI v South Africa

Allan Border Field, Brisbane

2:00pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 17

Australia v South Africa

Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

6:20pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 21

Australia v India

The Gabba, Brisbane

5:50pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 23

Australia v India

MCG, Melbourne

6:50pm (Local Time)

Gillette T20I – November 25

Australia v India

SCG, Sydney

6:50pm (Local Time)

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.