Ireland takes over Chairmanship of Committee of Ministers

CoE/Committee of Ministers


has taken over the rotating Chairmanship of the Council of Europe’s Committee of Ministers from Italy at the annual meeting of foreign ministers from the organisation’s 46 member states.

At the handover, the outgoing Chair of the Committee of Ministers – Italy’s Minister for Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation, Luigi Di Maio – gave an overview of his country’s achievements over the past six months. The incoming Chair – Ireland’s Minister for Foreign Affairs, Simon Coveney – presented the priorities of the Irish Presidency, which will run until November. Ireland’s Presidency will focus on three main priorities:

  • Reinforcing human rights and the protection of civilians in Europe
  • Promoting participatory democracy and youth engagement
  • Fostering a Europe of welcome, inclusion, and diversity

Council of Europe web page on the Irish Presidency

Irish Presidency website and video

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.