Local legends celebrated as part of Australia Day Awards

Nineteen outstanding individuals and groups will receive a prestigious Australia Day Local Award on 26 January 2022, recognising the incredible achievements of the people who make the Western Downs such a special place to live.

Western Downs Regional Council has revealed the recipients of this year's Australia Day Local Awards, which acknowledge the amazing achievements of residents in the areas of sport, creative arts, volunteering, and community organisations.

Mayor Paul McVeigh said the Awards were about recognising excellence in the region's local towns across a variety of categories.

"Our region's prestigious Australia Day Awards are a fantastic opportunity to shine a light on the people in our community who are achieving incredible things in their local towns," Cr McVeigh said.

"This year we have 19 individuals and organisations receiving special recognition for their outstanding contributions to the region and excellence in their chosen field whether it be a talented sportsperson, creative artist, outstanding volunteer, or incredible community group.

"Here in the Western Downs, it's the people that make it – and myself and my fellow Councillors look forward to officially recognising our winners at this year's Australia Day events.

"This is a special time to come together as one community and celebrate the people that make our region so great, and I encourage everyone to head along to their local event and be a part of the festivities."

2022 Australia Day Awards – Local Award Winners

Local Volunteer of the Year

Chinchilla & District – Ross Cardillo

Dalby & District – Paige Cartwright

Jandowae & District – Linda Wells

Miles & District – Kerry Mulholland

Tara & District – Brigetta Sternes

Wandoan & District – Robert Williams

Local Creative Arts Award

Chinchilla & District – Grant Dolbel

Dalby & District – Rachel Redlich

Miles & District – Miles Regional Arts Council Playwriting Development Program

Tara & District – Glenmorgan Art Group

Wandoan & District – Wandoan Arts Council Inc

Local Community Organisation Achievement Award

Chinchilla & District – Chinchilla Community Commerce and Industry

Miles & District – Miles Back to the Bush Festival

Wandoan & District – Wandoan Camel Races Committee

Local Sports Award

Chinchilla & District – Gabrielle Hicks

Dalby & District – Jessika Bliesner

Miles & District – Amity Salisbury

Tara & District – William Hallinan

Wandoan & District – Paige Miles

The Regional Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year will be announced on Australia Day.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.