Moreton police and staff recognised with honours and awards

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services The Honourable Mark Ryan

Minister for Police and Corrective Services and Minister for Fire and Emergency Services, the Honourable Mark Ryan MP, today joined Commissioner Katarina Carroll in honouring Queensland Police Service (QPS) officers and staff members from the Moreton District who have exhibited exceptional work and dedication of service.

The presentation saw Moreton District police officers and staff awarded for various achievements and career milestones for their work within the QPS, including the National Police Service Medal, National Medal, Service Medals and special awards and certificates.

Notable awards went to Senior Constable Karyn Hart for the Queensland Police Valour Award, Detective Sergeant John Fleming for Investigator of the Year, Senior Constable Chris Bird for General Duties Officer of the Year, and Senior Constable Denis Paice for Traffic Officer of the Year.

Officers and staff were also honoured for their years of service to the QPS, including Senior Constable Andrew Donohue and Sergeant Shane Rockley, each receiving a clasp to denote their 35 years of service.

Individual members of the community were also recognised for their work in providing substantial assistance to the QPS.

Commissioner Carroll was proud to show her appreciation to her staff for their exemplary work.

“Many of the officers, staff and members of the community we have honoured today have gone above and beyond in their work to keep Queenslanders safe,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“I thank each of these officers for their dedication to serving the people of Queensland, and am incredibly proud to be here to celebrate their achievements alongside their families and friends.

“These officers provide leadership and inspiration to their colleagues, and I am proud to be here today to recognise their valuable contributions.”

Minister Ryan thanked those honoured for going above and beyond their duties.

“These officers and staff have variously displayed the admirable qualities of loyalty, tenacity, bravery and leadership in their work, and it is wonderful to be able to recognise that,” Minister Ryan said.

“It is an honour to be here today to congratulate them in person, and I stand with the whole Moreton community in thanking these individuals for their service to all Queenslanders.”

The full list of award recipients is below:

National Police Service Medal

Senior Constable Jason Corlis

Senior Constable Tina Mackenzie

Senior Constable Christopher Ramey

National Medal

Senior Constable Jason Corlis

Senior Constable Tina Mackenzie

Senior Constable Christopher Ramey

Queensland Police Service Medal/Clasp

Sergeant Melissa Bicanic (25yr clasp)

Senior Constable Dane Britton (QPSM)

Senior Constable Jodie Burgess (QPSM)

Senior PLO Debra De Bree (25yr clasp)

Senior Constable Andrew Donohue (35yr clasp)

Detective Senior Constable Roxanne Eather (15yr clasp)

Sergeant Aaron Firth (30yr clasp)

Senior Constable Warren Forbes (15yr clasp)

Senior Constable Karyn Hart (QPSM)

Detective Senior Constable Kelly McKie (QPSM)

Ms Niree Nelson (15yr clasp)

Senior Constable Wendy Northard (15yr clasp)

Senior Constable Jessica Peck (QPSM)

Sergeant Shane Rockley (35yr clasp)

Detective Senior Constable James Rossner (30yr clasp)

Senior Constable Simon Rowe (QPSM)

Sergeant Ken Sands (30yr clasp)

Sergeant Mark Spencer (25 & 30yr clasps)

Detective Senior Constable Michael Thomas (15yr clasp)

Inspector Craig White (30 year clasp)

Special Awards

Senior Constable Karyn Hart – Queensland Police Valour Award

Charlize Breen – Commissioner’s Certificate

Mikaylee Morgan – Commissioner’s Certificate

Detective Senior Constable Andrew Childs – Detective Certificate

Detective Senior Emina Diklic – Detective Certificate

Detective Senior Constable Roxanne Eather – District Officer Certificate

Detective Senior Constable Simon Van Der Maat – District Officer Certificate

Sergeant Martin Lampe – District Officer Certificate

Detective Sergeant John Fleming – “Investigator of the Year”

Senior Constable Chris Bird – “General Duties Officer of the Year”

Senior Constable Denis Paice – “Traffic Officer of the Year”

Justyn Bedford – Certificate of Appreciation

James Hutchinson – Certificate of Appreciation

Jan Aitkens – Certificate of Appreciation

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.