New Chair for Port Arthur Board

Peter Gutwein,Minister for Environment, Parks and Heritage

Mr Grant O’Brien has been appointed as Chairperson for the Port Arthur Historic Site Management Authority (PAHSMA), continuing on from Professor Sharon Sullivan, who retires after 20 years of exemplary service.

I extend my sincerest appreciation to Professor Sullivan, who has served on the Board since 1999 as an outstanding Chair and has been instrumental in making the Port Arthur Historic Site the award-winning attraction it is today.

Mr O’Brien will take on the role of chair and build on Professor Sullivan’s legacy, bringing extensive Board experience and outstanding skills in leadership and strategy.

Born in Tasmania, Mr O’Brien started with Purity supermarkets and worked his way up to being CEO of one of Australia’s largest publicly listed companies, Woolworths, and was a former Chairman for both Australian Leisure and Hospitality and Hydrox Holdings in addition to being a member of the Business Council of Australia, a Director of the Global Consumer Goods Forum and Chairman of the Retail Council of Australia. Mr O’Brien is currently a member of the Government’s AFL task force, Director of the Avner Nahmani Pancreatic Cancer Research Fund and is Deputy Chairman of the Stars Foundation.

In addition to the new Chair, both Ms Kristal Buckley AM and the Hon Peter McKay, have been reappointed as Directors for another term. Ms Judith Franks’ term on the Board recently expired and the Government extends its thanks for Ms Franks’ time and contribution to the PAHSMA Board.

The work of the Board will continue to build on PAHSMA’s achievements and ensure that historic sites managed by the Authority will continue as major tourist drawcards and significant contributors to the local economy.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.