New chair for TAFE Queensland board

Minister for Employment and Small Business and Minister for Training and Skills Development The Honourable Di Farmer

The new chair of TAFE Queensland Jane Seawright will bring a wealth of experience in business and law to the role.

Minister for Training and Skills Development Di Farmer said Ms Seawright is an important appointment for TAFE Queensland.

“Ms Seawright has an extensive background in corporate and commercial law, has worked in various industries, and has also run her own business,” Ms Farmer said.

“She is an excellent choice to lead TAFE Queensland forward over the next four years – and I look forward to working with her on the future of training in this state.

“Ms Seawright joins three new appointments to the board, including Dr Valerie Cooms, Bron Davies and Peter Price.

“They all bring valuable insight and experience that will help guide TAFE Queensland for many years,” Ms Farmer said.

Dr Valerie Cooms is an Adjunct Professor at Griffith University and a highly experienced First Nations academic and non-executive director.

Bron Davies is currently the Chief Auditor of Airservices Australia with previous experience in senior auditing roles in Queensland and New South Wales.

Peter Price has extensive board experience whose work has focussed on safety, strategy, risk management, technology and cyber-security.

“These appointments mean women continue to have a strong voice on this board and there are real advocates for the training needs of regional Queenslanders and Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people,” Ms Farmer said.

“TAFE Queensland performs an important role as the state’s largest vocational education and training provider and the board will guide its operations to ensure we are developing the skilled workers our economy needs as we rebuild from the effects of COVID-19.

“These new appointees join continuing board members Trina Hockley AM, Kay Giles and Andrew Dettmer and I am sure their complementary skills will drive TAFE Queensland to further success.

“I would like to thank outgoing chair Annabel Dolphin and members Peter Dowling AM, Deborah Wilson and Noela L’Estrange for the contributions they made during their terms.”

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.