NSW volunteer of year announced

Broken Hill school student, Abbie Kelly, has today been named 2021 NSW Volunteer of the Year for her outstanding contribution to charitable causes.

Minister for Families, Communities and Disability Services Alister Henskens said volunteers are the glue that helps bind communities together and the NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards recognise their invaluable contributions across the state.

“I congratulate Abbie who is an inspiring young woman and a very deserving recipient of this years’ Volunteer of the Year Award,” Mr Henskens said.

“At just 12 years old, Abbie is already a tireless fundraiser and community advocate, and is determined to contribute to the efforts to find a cure for cancer.”

The NSW Volunteer of the Year Awards are run by The Centre for Volunteering and have grown to become one of the nation’s largest celebrations of volunteering.

The award recipients for 2021 include:

  • Volunteer of the Year and Young Volunteer – Abbie Kelly from Broken Hill;
  • Adult Volunteer of the Year – Sayeed Karimi from Regents Park;
  • Senior Volunteer of the Year – Kay Ching-Kue from Chatswood and Helen Mears from Coffs Harbour;
  • Volunteer Team of the Year – South Western Sydney Local Health District Palliative Care COVID-19 team;
  • Club Volunteer of the Year – John Rodd from Wagga RSL; and
  • Excellence in Volunteer Management – Royal Rehab Volunteer Services.

The Centre for Volunteering CEO Gemma Rygate said volunteers had supported communities across NSW in many different ways and the awards highlight their extraordinary efforts throughout 2021.

“Despite COVID-19, volunteers have continued to work to deliver meals to the vulnerable; care packages have been provided for families in need in locked down areas; and lifeline phones have continued to be answered,” Ms Rygate said.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.