Police receive Commissioner’s Medals

More than 250 current and retired police as well as other DPFEM staff will be recognised for a combination of Commissioners Medals and Awards, National Medals and National Police Service Medals and clasps.

Five police officers – Constables Nikki Mackintosh, Cameron Rennie, Phillip Vanderwal, Senior Constable Callum Herbert and Senior Constable Chris Williams – plus Ambulance Tasmania paramedic Emily Byers and pilot Chris Fahey, will also be awarded the National Search and Rescue Council Award for their involvement in the rescue of an injured bushwalker at the Totem Pole, Cape Hauy in February 2019.

Police Commissioner Darren Hine paid tribute to the recipients, saying that the medals and awards were issued to members who have demonstrated a consistently high standard of work performance, along with demonstration of unequivocally high standards of personal and professional conduct.

“These awards are a chance for me to say thank you for the work that our police officers and State Service Employees do. It’s these people who provide invaluable assistance in our mission to keep our communities safe,” Commissioner Hine said.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.