Queensland Premier’s Drama Award finalists announced

Three Queensland-based playwrights are vying for the nationally-coveted 2020–21 Queensland Premier’s Drama Award.

Anna Loren, Maddie Nixon and Steve Pirie were selected as finalists from a record 221 entries representing every state and territory in Australia, the largest intake of dramatic works in the award’s 17-year history.

Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk said the winner, to be announced in April 2020, would have their play professionally produced and performed on stage during Queensland Theatre’s 2021 season.

“I congratulate Anna, Maddie and Steve for their outstanding efforts, and wish them well as they continue their development journey working with industry experts,” she said.

“I am delighted there are three Queenslanders on the finalist list, a clear indication of our State’s artistic strengths and the vitality of our theatre industry.

“Following on from the success of Brisbane writer David Megarrity as the recipient of the 2019–20 Drama Award, I look forward to seeing which of their scripts is turned into Queensland Theatre’s next world premiere.”

David Megarrity’s play, The Holidays, will premiere in Brisbane in July 2020 as part of Queensland Theatre’s 50th anniversary season.

Since 2002, the Queensland Premier’s Drama Award, an initiative of the Queensland Government, has seen Queensland Theatre develop 31 new Australian plays, employ more than 220 actors, writers and directors, and entertain more than 34,500 audience members.

“I commend Queensland Theatre for continuing to get behind burgeoning Australian talent and helping to bring their original stories to life and their professional careers to fruition,” the Premier said.

/Public Release. View in full here.