TRC calls on young and bright to inspire Region’s future

Toowoomba Regional Council (TRC) is calling on the Region’s young and bright to be a voice for their generation as part of Council’s 2022 Youth Leaders Program.

Young people eligible for the program are encouraged to submit their applications by 5pm, 30 July 2021.

TRC Environment and Community Committee Chair Cr James O’Shea said Council’s Youth Leaders Program encouraged young people to learn about their community, be a leader, share ideas and become involved in the issues that matter to them on a local level.

“Today’s young people are the leaders and decision makers of tomorrow. Their ideas are integral to shaping our Region’s future,” Cr O’Shea said.

“This program began in 2015 with 20 members selected to represent the Region. Eight years on and 142 representatives later, Council is once again calling on 25 enthusiastic young people from across the Toowoomba Region to be a voice for local youth.

“Youth leaders play an important part in ensuring Council programs are relevant to the needs of our young people and to encourage them to become involved in local government.

“The program has achieved so much in a short time with previous initiatives including fundraising for youth services, organising events, developing environmental programs and delivering national Youth Week activities.

“Youth Leaders have also represented our region at local, state and national forums that have helped to shape youth policy at all levels of government.”

“To be eligible for the program applicants must be aged between 14 and 24, live in the Toowoomba Regional Council area, able to attend monthly meetings, plus be available for two training camps in late September and late December.

Cr O’Shea urged those eligible to finalise their applications by 30 July to avoid disappointment.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.