2019 Premier’s Literary Prizes winners

Will Hodgman,Premier

Elise Archer,Minister for the Arts

A record number of entries were received for the 2019 Premier’s Literary Prizes, showcasing the immense depth and quality of Tasmanian writing.

The awards provide the chance to recognise excellence in our literary community, which is a key part of the more culturally confident Tasmania we live in today.

The Tasmanian Government is proud to support the Literary Prizes, alongside the University of Tasmania, and generous private philanthropists.

Congratulations to all nominees, who are apart of Tasmania’s rich literary sector that we celebrate, and especially the 2019 winners.

Tasmania Book Prize, for the best book with Tasmanian content in any genre – $25 000

· Winner: Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary published by Allen & Unwin

Margaret Scott Prize, for the best book by a Tasmanian writer – $5 000

· Winner: Flames by Robbie Arnott published by Text Publishing

University of Tasmania Prize, for the best new unpublished literary work by an emerging Tasmanian writer – $5 000

· Winner: The Signal Line by Brendan Colley

Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship, for an emerging writer under 30 – $5 000

· Winner: Sam George – Allen

The public also submitted their votes for the Premier’s Literary Prizes People’s Choice Awards:

The University of Tasmania Prize People’s Choice Award

· Joint winners: The People’s Park by Stephenie Cahalan and The Clinking by Susie Greenhill

The Margaret Scott Prize People’s Choice Award

· Winner: Star-crossed by Minnie Darke published by Penguin Random House

Tasmania Book Prize People’s Choice Award

· Bridget Crack by Rachel Leary published by Allen & Unwin

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.