2020 Tasmanian Institute of Sport scholarships announced

Jeremy Rockliff,Minister for Sport and Recreation

The Hodgman majority Liberal Government is the strongest supporter of the Tasmanian Institute of Sport and congratulates the 74 athletes who have been awarded scholarships and training agreements in 2020.

The TIS will provide High Performance Scholarships to 61 athletes across 12 sports in 2020, with an additional 13 Talent Development Scholarships offered across three sports.

Five previous TIS Scholarship holders continue their relationship with the Institute as Associate Athletes.

Athletes participate in sports including archery, athletics, bowls, canoe slalom, cycling, hockey, rowing, sailing, skateboarding, swimming, triathlon and weightlifting.

Athletes who receive high performance scholarships are nationally identified by their National Sporting Organisation (NSO) and/or meet the criteria set by the TIS in collaboration with the relevant NSO.

The scholarship allow athletes to benefit from a range of services including:

  • high performance coaching;
  • sports science and technical analysis;
  • strength and conditioning coaching;
  • training and competition equipment;
  • national and international training and competition experiences;
  • athlete well-being and engagement advice; and
  • financial support.

Current Kookaburras Captain Eddie Ockenden returns for his 17th year as a scholarship holder and looks likely to contest a fourth Olympic Games in Tokyo 2020. Long-time scholarship holder Amy Cure looks likely to contest a third Olympic Games in Tokyo.

Also receiving a Scholarship is Rio Olympian and Tokyo Olympic Games hopeful, Milly Clark.

Following in the footsteps of his father Matt, canoeist Hamish Dalziel joins the TIS scholarship recipients in 2020.

National Para Development Squad swimmer (and chance for the 2020 Tokyo Paralympic Games) Jet Jankiewicz, is a new scholarship inclusion in 2020.

The hockey program has two sets of siblings on scholarship in 2020 – brothers Josh and Hayden Beltz and sister/brother combination, Maddison and Josh Brooks. Rowing also shares a sister/brother combination in Eve and Wilson Mure.

The full list of recipient by region:

Milly Clark LAUNCESTON Athletics North
Rebecca Van Asch INVERMAY Bowls North
Josh Duffy INVERMAY Cycling North
Lauren Perry LAUNCESTON Cycling North
Zack Gilmore LEGANA Cycling North
Georgia Baker PERTH Cycling North
Caitlyn Turner KAYENA Cycling North
Rebecca Bye LAUNCESTON Rowing North
Ally Wrigley LAUNCESTON Rowing North
Ciona Wilson LEBRINA Rowing North
Connor Ryan SUMMERHILL Rowing North
Jack Barrett TREVALLYN Rowing North
Jacob Birtwhistle RIVERSIDE Triathlon North
Sam Clifford LEGANA Athletics North
Liam Johnston UNDERWOOD Cycling North
Sam Fox LAUNCESTON Cycling North
Chloe Fisher TREVALLYN Sailing North
Kelsie Rainbow KINGS MEADOWS Netball North
Ariane Titmus LAUNCESTON Swimming North
Sarah Ashlin LEGANA Rowing North
Finnian Colley RELBIA Rowing North
Lars Gillingham WEST LAUNCESTON Rowing North
Henry Youl HADSPEN Rowing North
North West
Deon Kenzie FORTH Athletics (Para) NorthWest
Stewart McSweyn ST KILDA EAST Athletics NorthWest
Anya Louw AMBLESIDE Cycling NorthWest
Macey Stewart DEVONPORT Cycling NorthWest
Amy Cure PENGUIN Cycling NorthWest
Jacob Templeton DEVONPORT Swimming (Para) NorthWest
Kate Hall PENGUIN Rowing NorthWest
Hannah Tippett DEVONPORT Rowing NorthWest
Kevin Faulkner LEWISHAM Archery (Para) South
Sarah Haywood MIDWAY POINT Archery South
Sam Walker BRIDGEWATER Athletics (Para) South
Jack Hale LALOR Athletics South
Alexander McKillop MARGATE Athletics (Para) South
Hamish Peacock SANDFORD Athletics South
Daniel Watkins GROVE Canoe Slalom South
George Lazenby PLENTY Canoe Slalom South
Kate Eckhardt WEST HOBART Canoe Slalom South
Demelza Wall WEST HOBART Canoe Slalom South
Claire Hodgman Canoe Slalom South
Hamish Dalziel Canoe Slalom South
Scott Bowden ROSETTA Cycling South
Nicole Frain KINGSTON BEACH Cycling South
Gobindraj Gill ACTON PARK Hockey South
Henry Chambers BATTERY POINT Hockey South
Joshua Beltz COMO Hockey South
Joshua Brooks HOWRAH Hockey South
Edward Ockenden MOONAH Hockey South
Phillida Bridley NEW TOWN Hockey South
Hayden Beltz OLD BEACH Hockey South
Jack Welch OLD BEACH Hockey South
Sam McCulloch SANDY BAY Hockey South
Julia Gunn TOLMANS HILL Hockey South
Evie Dalton PENNA Hockey South
Maddison Brooks HOWRAH Hockey South
Ewan Vickery GLENORCHY Hockey South
Eve Mure HOBART Rowing South
Sarah Hawe PENRITH Rowing South
Eleni Kalimnios SANDY BAY Rowing South
Georgia Nesbitt SOUTH HOBART Rowing South
Wilson Mure TINDERBOX Rowing South
Joseph Wilson NORTH MOTTON Rowing South
Alec Paterson RICHMOND Rowing South
Lucas Wigston SANDY BAY Rowing South
Adele Auchterlonie OLD BEACH Sailing South
Alice Buchanan SANDY BAY Sailing South
Jock Calvert SANDY BAY Sailing South
Dervla Duggan TAROONA Sailing South
Oscar O’Donoghue BATTERY POINT Sailing South
Rupert Hamilton TAROONA Sailing South
Grace Cochrane WEST HOBART Skateboarding South
Jet Jankiewicz TAROONA Swimming (Para) South
Kaitlyn Fassina RISDON VALE Weightlifting South
William Robertson OTAGO Athletics South
Anna Blackwell NEW NORFOLK Athletics South
Jane Hickie ACTON PARK Athletics South
Matthew Byrne LACHLAN Talent Transfer South
Ethan Galbraith SANDY BAY Sailing South
Charlie Goodfellow MT NELSON Sailing South
Thomas Nikitaras KINGSTON Sailing South
Will Sargent TRANMERE Sailing South
Charles Zeeman SANDY BAY Sailing South
Adele Auchterlonie OLD BEACH Sailing South
Keiron Arthur HOWRAH Hockey South
Ashby Bingham SANDY BAY Hockey South
Max Larkin BONNETT HILL Hockey South
Tyler McDonald NEW TOWN Hockey South
Raphaela Corney TAROONA Rowing South
Luke Haas HOWRAH rowing South
Tyler Mason SANDY BAY rowing South

/Public Release. View in full here.