23rd Administrator of Northern Territory Announced

NT Government

It was announced today that following a five-year term in office,

Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AO, Administrator of the Northern Territory will be succeeded by Dr Hugh Heggie PSM as the 23rd Administrator. Her Honour and Mr Craig O’Halloran will officially depart Government House on Monday, 30 January 2023.

Since her appointment as Administrator in October 2017, Her Honour, supported by Mr Craig O’Halloran, has worked tirelessly in representing and advocating for Territorians across the Northern Territory, Australia and overseas.

Constantly inspired by the unique and resilient spirit of our diverse communities, the Administrator and Mr O’Halloran have spent time with Territorians the length and breadth of the Territory: from Mutitjulu and Kalkarindji, to Alpurrurulam, Groote Eylandt and the Tiwi Islands.

During her term, the Administrator has undertaken a remarkable number of engagements recognising and celebrating Territorians, and representing the Territory at the highest levels. These have included presenting 300 Australian Honours & Awards to Territorians; 1000 courtesy calls; 2,500 hosted and attended events, and welcomed more than 20,000 visitors to Government House.

Together, the Administrator and Mr O’Halloran have supported over 60 community groups and organisations, such as AFLNT, Asthma Foundation NT, NT Thai Association, the Royal Flying Doctors, Care Flight and Down Syndrome Association of the Northern Territory, as their Patrons.

Events during the Administrator’s five-year term have impacted the community in a way not experienced by an Administrator since World War II and Cyclone Tracy.

The Covid-19 Pandemic required resilience, innovation and compassion in maintaining the continuity of the Administrator’s community engagement program, while protecting the health and wellbeing of Territorians.

More recently, in undertaking the ceremonial and statutory duties following the death of Queen Elizabeth II, the remarkable response from hundreds of Territorians has foregrounded the need to ensure the traditional vice-regal institution of Government House remains able to engage with all Territorians, and to continue to represent their experiences and values into the future.

The Administrator’s term has been characterised by an enduring commitment to engaging with as many Territorians as possible, and to listening and learning, in order to provide a platform and voice for our unique stories.

The remaining months of the Administrator’s term will be spent continuing the extensive Government House community engagement program that has enabled thousands of Territorians to experience Government House and spend time with the Administrator over the last five years.

Quotes from Her Honour the Honourable Vicki O’Halloran AO, Administrator of the Northern Territory:

“Undertaking the role of Administrator of the Northern Territory for the past five years has been an immense privilege, and I am wholeheartedly grateful to so many Territorians for sharing their stories, insights, compassion and wisdom with me during my term.

“It is abundantly clear to me that we have endless talent and ambition across the NT, and with our many engaged and energetic young people I am excited for the next chapter for the Northern Territory.

“I congratulate Dr Heggie on his appointment, and wish him well and every success as he prepares to take on this very special and unique role.”

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.