29 new mobile base stations for South Australia

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Minister for Regional Communications

Tim Whetstone MP

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development

South Australians will benefit from improved mobile coverage and more reliable communications under Round 4 of the Federal Government’s Mobile Black Spot Program.

Federal Minister for Regional Services Senator Bridget McKenzie today announced the locations of 29 new base stations in South Australia, improving mobile coverage in regional and remote communities.

The new sites include base stations at Riverton, Little Para Pass, Rhynie and Pichi Richi.

“Greater availability of mobile services means staying safe in remote areas, keeping in contact with family and friends, accessing online health and education services as well as increased tourism and business opportunities,” Minister McKenzie said.

“South Australia is a large state which needs reliable communications networks to thrive. These new mobile base stations will help regional South Australians connect with the world.

“The Federal Liberal Government has worked closely with the South Australian Government as well as telecommunication providers to identify these key sites across the state.”

South Australia’s Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development Tim Whetstone said the state’s economic growth will be driven by effective mobile communications.

“The Marshall Liberal Government made a clear election commitment to help address mobile black spots across the state and this is announcement is significant step forward for regional South Australia,” Minister Whetstone said.

“Our regional areas are a major driver of our state’s economy and are an integral part of the state’s identity.

“South Australia’s regions contribute around $25 billion a year to the state’s economy, and connectivity is essential to driving our regions’ and our state’s growth and success.”

Under Round 4 of the program, $19.4 million will be invested in mobile infrastructure in South Australia. This includes $5.5 million funding from the Commonwealth and

$5.3 million from the South Australian Government.

The Mobile Black Spot Program is delivering 1047 new base stations and generating over $760 million of new investment in mobile infrastructure including contributions from state and local governments, mobile network operators, businesses and local communities.

Base stations under the first three rounds are scheduled to be operational by

30 June 2019. Round 4 base stations are expected to roll out shortly with the first new base stations being activated by the second half of the year.

The list of new South Australian locations is below. For further details on Round 4 visit: www.communications.gov.au/mbsp


/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.