83 police recruits first to fast track graduation

Today, Commissioner Katarina Carroll welcomed 83 new officers to the Queensland Police Service (QPS) following a graduation ceremony at the Oxley Police Academy.

This is the first group of Police Recruits to fast-track their graduation following a statement from Commissioner Carroll today.

The decision came to reduce the risk of the transmission of COVID-19 in Queensland Police Academies, which house over 750 recruits and training staff across three campuses.

Commissioner Carroll said by fast-tracking the graduation ceremony, it will immediately bolster the number of front-line police officers.

“These decisions have not been taken lightly by the leadership of the Queensland Police Service, however they achieve two key objectives – they remove a significant number of people out of the Academy thus removing some of the risks,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“And it also provides much needed police officers for the front line at a critical time not only for the Police Service but for the people of Queensland.”

Commissioner Carroll said the new First Year Constables (FYC) have spent months building a strong foundation to enable them to deliver an excellent level of service as they begin their policing careers.

“I am filled with pride and have confidence in the future of the Service. These new recruits will contribute to the Queensland Police Service’s unrelenting commitment to community safety,” Commissioner Carroll said.

The new First Year Constables will be initially deployed to the following areas:

North Brisbane District
Petrie Station1
City Station1
Hendra Station1
Fortitude Valley Station4
Stafford Station1
Ferny Grove Station1
South Brisbane District
Carina Station1
Sherwood Station1
Upper Mount Gravatt Station2
Mt Ommaney Station2
Inala Station2
Cleveland Station1
Mackay District
Mackay Station5
Bowen Station1
Moranbah Station1
Sarina Station1
Capricornia District
Gladstone Station6
Wide Bay Burnett District
Bundaberg Station3
Townsville District
Stuart Station1
Townsville Station3
Mundingburra Station1
Deeragun Station1
Upper Ross Station1
Far North District
Cairns Station4
Edmonton Station1
Smithfield Station1
Innisfail Station2
Logan District
Browns Plains Station1
Beaudesert Station1
Beenleigh Station1
Logan Central Station5
Loganholme Station1
Gold Coast District
Southport Station1
Coomera Station1
Nerang Station1
Mudgeeraba Station1
Moreton District
Redcliffe Station2
Ipswich District
Ipswich Station5
Darling Downs District
Toowoomba Station4
South West District
Charleville Station2
Kingaroy Station2
Longreach Station2
Murgon Station2

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.