A new chapter for Sydney Harbour Federation Trust

The Hon Sussan Ley MP
Minister for the Environment

The Morrison Government’s pathway of reform for the Sydney Harbour Federation Trust has taken another step forward today with the appointment of two new board members and Executive Director.

Janet Carding will take on the role of Executive Director, while Carolyn McNally, co-author of the independent review into the Trust and military historian Brad Manera will both take up positions on the board. Joseph Carrozzi AM has been reappointed as Chair for a second term.

Minister for the Environment Sussan Ley welcomed the appointments saying the renewed leadership team takes on the significant role of stewarding Sydney’s historic sites for the public.

“Australians are passionate advocates of Harbour Trust sites like Cockatoo Island and North Head, so it is a significant point in time for the Trust Board, as it moves to incorporate recommendations of the landmark Trust Review and recent amendments to the legislation that secured public ownership of Trust sites,” Minister Ley said.

“The reappointment of Mr Carrozzi as Chair, the appointments of Ms Carding as Executive Director and Ms McNally and Mr Manera to the board reflect the Morrison Government’s ambitions to ensure the continued protection and enhancement of Sydney Harbour’s iconic heritage sites.

“The experience of these new appointments in planning, military history, conservation and heritage interpretation will ensure the Harbour Trust shepherds the protection of our unique, cultural, colonial and military places.”

Incoming Executive Director Janet Carding said: “I am excited to be joining the Harbour Trust and to play a part in stewarding these wonderful destinations that are such highlights of Sydney Harbour.

“It is a privilege to have the opportunity to shape the future of such jewels as Cockatoo Island and North Head as their new visions are developed and realised.”

Minister Ley also thanked outgoing members of the Board for their dedication and contributions – Garth Callender, Jessica Keen, and Jean Hay AM for her eight years of service – as well as the acting Executive Director Linda Ward.

The three Trust Board members will be appointed for a period of two years from 1 July 2021 to 30 June 2023. Ms Carding will commence her five-year appointment as Executive Director on 30 August 2021.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.