Appointment of Commissioners to Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission

The Secretary of State for Northern Ireland, the Right Honourable Brandon Lewis MP has today announced the appointment of six Commissioners to the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission who will take up office on 1 September 2020.

The successful candidates, who will serve for a period of 3 years, are as follows:

  • Helen Henderson
  • Jonathan Kearney
  • David Lavery
  • Maura Muldoon
  • Edmond Rooney
  • Stephen White

Speaking earlier today Mr Lewis said:

I am delighted to make these appointments to the Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission.

The Northern Ireland Human Rights Commission, under the leadership of Chief Commissioner, Les Allamby, continues to play an important role in keeping under review the adequacy and effectiveness in protecting human rights and promoting understanding and awareness of the importance of human rights in Northern Ireland’s increasingly diverse society.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.