Assistance to victims of terrorist attacks in Christchurch, Nairobi and Karachi

The Australian Government has declared three terrorist attacks for the purposes of the Australian Victim of Terrorism Overseas Payment (AVTOP) scheme.

The 15 March 2019 attacks in Christchurch, New Zealand; the 15-16 January 2019 attack in Nairobi, Kenya; and the 8 May 2002 attack in Karachi, Pakistan, have been declared as ‘terrorist acts’ under the scheme.

On 15 March 2019, a single perpetrator conducted consecutive mass shootings at the al‑Noor Mosque and Linwood Islamic Centre in Christchurch, New Zealand. The attack killed 51 people and another 49 people were injured.

From 15-16 January 2019, five perpetrators conducted a complex attack on the dusitD2 hotel complex in Nairobi, Kenya. The attack killed 21 people and another 28 were injured.

On 8 May 2002, a vehicle-borne improvised explosive device was detonated outside the Sheraton Hotel in Karachi, Pakistan. The attack killed 15 people and another 40 people were injured.

The Australian Government condemns the attacks and extends its deepest sympathies to the families and friends of those killed and injured, and to the Governments and people of New Zealand, Kenya and Pakistan.

The declaration of these attacks means that eligible Australians who were harmed, or lost a close family member, as a result of the attacks may seek a one-off payment of up to $75,000 in financial assistance.

The AVTOP scheme ensures Australian victims of terrorist events overseas have access to financial support. The declaration of these attacks brings the total number of overseas terrorist acts declared by the Australian Government for the purposes of the AVTOP scheme to 45.

Information on declared attacks and how to apply for financial assistance through the AVTOP scheme is available at: or by calling 1800 040 226.

/Public Release. View in full here.