Australian Government Recovery Assistance For People In NSW & QLD Impacted By Flooding

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Minister for Regionalisation, Regional Communications and Regional Education

Joint Media Release

Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience

Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC

Minister for Government Services

Minister for The National Disability Insurance Scheme

New South Wales and Queensland communities impacted by the recent storms and flooding can apply for financial support from the Australian Government from Tuesday 14 December.

The Australian Government Disaster Recovery Allowance (DRA) is available to support people whose income has been affected in 48 local government areas (LGAs) in New South Wales and 18 LGAs in Queensland.

Minister for Emergency Management and National Recovery and Resilience, Senator the Hon Bridget McKenzie said a number of communities had been seriously impacted by severe flooding and storm damage.

“The Liberal and Nationals Government wants to help people affected by these floods and storms to get back on their feet. We’re doing this by making this additional financial support available,” Minister McKenzie said.

“The Disaster Recovery Allowance provides a short-term income support payment to assist individuals whose income has been affected because of this disastrous event. The Allowance is available for up to 13 weeks, equivalent to the maximum rate of JobSeeker Payment or Youth Allowance.”

Minister for Government Services Senator the Hon Linda Reynolds CSC encouraged residents impacted by the storms and floods to lodge a claim for assistance.

“The easiest and fastest way to claim is over the phone, by calling the Australian Government Emergency Information Line on 180 22 66,” Minister Reynolds said.

“Staff from Services Australia are available to take calls between 8am to 5pm local time, Monday to Friday.

“If you’ve been affected by recent floods in New South Wales and Queensland and are repaying a Centrelink debt, Services Australia is able to help. To provide immediate assistance, the Australian Government is pausing all Centrelink debt raising and new debt recovery in the affected Local Government Areas.”

Claims for DRA can be made to Services Australia from Tuesday 14 December 2021.

The 48 LGAs for NSW are Bathurst, Bega Valley, Blayney, Blue Mountains, Bourke, Brewarrina, Broken Hill, Cabonne, Cobar, Coonamble, Cowra, Dubbo, Eurobodalla, Forbes, Gilgandra, Glen Innes Severn, Goulburn-Mulwaree, Gunnedah, Gwydir, Kyogle, Lachlan, Lithgow, Liverpool Plains, Lockhart, Mid-Western, Moree Plains, Muswellbrook, Narrabri, Narromine, Oberon, Orange, Parkes, Port Macquarie-Hastings, Queanbeyan-Palerang, Richmond Valley, Shoalhaven, Singleton, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Tamworth, Tenterfield, Upper Hunter, Walcha, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin and Wentworth.

The 18 LGAs for Queensland are Banana, Barcaldine, Barcoo, Blackall-Tambo, Boulia, Bundaberg, Central Highlands, Diamantina, Goondiwindi, Lockyer Valley, Longreach, Maranoa, Murweh, Scenic Rim, South Burnett, Southern Downs, Toowoomba and Western Downs.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.