Boosting Western Australia’s Apprentice Workforce

Thousands of new training and apprentice opportunities will be created in Western Australia as it signs on to the Liberal National Government’s Skilling Australians Fund (SAF) National Partnership Agreement.

Minister for Small and Family Business, Skills and Vocational Education, Senator the Hon Michaelia Cash said the signing of the National Partnership Agreement with the Western Australian Government will build the number of apprentices and trainees to safeguard Western Australia’s future economic prosperity.

The Liberal National Government’s investment in the partnership is $1.5 billion over four years and Western Australia can receive up to $126.1 million during the agreement, to be matched dollar for dollar by the state government.

“This investment is expected to create over 20,000 new pre-apprenticeships, apprenticeships and traineeships, and Western Australian employers will gain the skilled workers they need to drive productivity and growth,” Minister Cash said.

“Signing onto the Skilling Australians Fund demonstrates the Western Australian Government’s commitment to work with the Federal Liberal National Government to ensure the state grows its vital skills-based industries such as health and community services, mining services, technology, tourism and other sectors that are forecasted to underpin the WA economy in coming decades.

“We are boosting apprenticeship numbers in Western Australia – providing real skills for real careers for young Western Australians and future proofing the WA workforce into the next generation.

“The Liberal National Government strongly believes that a Vocational Education and Training qualification is just as important to our economy as a University degree, and we are delighted that we can work with the WA Government to deliver these places to young Western Australians.”

The SAF National Partnership Agreement will create up to 300,000 new apprenticeship and trainee places over four years. It commenced on 1 July 2018 and Western Australia is the sixth state or territory to sign the National Partnership, alongside South Australia, New South Wales, Tasmania, the Australian Capital Territory and the Northern Territory.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.