Bushfire assistance extended for central Queensland communities

*Joint media release with Senator the Hon. Linda Reynolds MP Assistant Minister for Home Affairs

Disaster assistance has been extended to communities in Rockhampton, Livingstone and Mackay to help more people affected by the severe bushfires still burning in the region.

Assistance is being provided through the jointly funded Commonwealth-State Disaster Recovery Funding Arrangements (DRFA) and is in addition to the assistance already activated for the Gladstone region.

Assistant Minister for Home Affairs Senator Linda Reynolds, who has responsibility for Commonwealth disaster assistance, said the Commonwealth and Queensland governments continue to work closely to support ongoing recovery efforts and identify where further assistance can be provided.

“The situation we are seeing in Queensland is unprecedented,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

“By extending disaster assistance to include the communities most recently impacted by the fire event, we are able to offer more people assistance while they get back on their feet.”

Queensland Fire and Emergency Services Minister Craig Crawford said the conditions in some parts of the state continued to be very dangerous and urged people to stay alert.

“People can stay up to date by following Queensland Fire and Emergency Services on social media, visiting the QFES website and tuning into local radio,” Mr Crawford said.

“If you see an unattended fire, please report it immediately to Triple Zero (000). The sooner we have crews on scene, the better.

“We will continue to monitor the situation and will work closely with the Commonwealth if other communities need assistance.

“To date we now have four local government areas that have access to DRFA assistance to help aid community recovery and to fund operational response activities.”

Assistant Minister Reynolds said the funding would help cover the cost of fighting the bushfires and provide personal hardship assistance to areas that have been evacuated.

“Those who have been evacuated from Gracemere, Kabra and Stanwell in Rockhampton; Ambrose and Mt Larcom in Gladstone; and Campwin Beach, Crediton, Eungella, Dalrymple Heights, Finch Hatton, Netherdale and Sarina Beach in the Mackay region will have access to the DRFA assistance,” Assistant Minister Reynolds said.

Information on disaster assistance can be found on the Australian Government’s Disaster Assist website at www.disasterassist.gov.au and the Queensland Government’s Disaster Management website at www.disaster.qld.gov.au.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.