Celebrating Tasmania’s award winning architects for 2020

Elise Archer,Minister for Building and Construction

As Minister for Building and Construction, and Ambassador for the Tasmanian Chapter of the Australian Institute of Architects, I was thrilled to last night attend the virtual live-stream Tasmanian Architecture Awards to celebrate the vital work of our State’s architects.

The Tasmanian Government recognises that the building and construction industry is a key driver of our State’s economy and it is now more important than ever to recover and rebuild as we emerge from the challenges caused by the global COVID-19 pandemic.

Architects play a crucial role in developing our built environment by providing innovative and flexible designs to support and enhance our Tasmanian lifestyle.

Tasmanian architects contribute to the development of sustainable buildings that amplify the unique characteristics of our natural environment and heritage.

Every year I have been attending it is always great to see so many innovative projects entered from a range of local businesses, including a number of emerging architects represented.

These awards drive continuous improvement in the design of our buildings which enhances our health and wellbeing, and the quality of our lifestyle.

This year, there were 24 projects entered across 11 categories, as well as a number of Chapter prizes. All entries can be viewed online at https://www.architecture.com.au/awards/entrant-gallery-tas-chapter-2020-national-architecture-awards/

Thank you to all the award entrants and winners for their hard work and commitment to the profession. They have all made impressive contributions to Tasmania’s built environment which benefits our entire community.

All Named Award and Award winners will now progress to the National Architecture Awards.

This year’s Tasmanian Architecture Awards winners were:

Commercial Architecture

The Colin Philp Award | Three Capes Track Lodges | Andrew Burns Architecture

Chapter Award | Stillwater Seven | Cumulus Studio

Chapter Award | MOSS 39 | Circa Morris-Nunn Chua Architects

Public Architecture

The Alan C Walker Award | Kingborough Community Hub | March Studio

Urban Design

The Dirk Bolt Award | Bridge of Remembrance | Denton Corker Marshall

Educational Architecture

Chapter Commendation | Parklands High School Redevelopment | ARTAS Architects

Chapter Commendation | The Media School – University of Tasmania | Morrison & Breytenbach Architects


The Roy Sharrington Smith Award | Bozen’s Cottage | Taylor & Hinds Architects

Chapter Award | Hollow Tree House | Core Collective Architects

Interior Architecture

The Alexander North Award | Eternal Women’s Health | Core Collective Architects

Chapter Award | Legislative Council Chambers | JAWS Interiors (In collaboration with JAWS Architects)

Residential Architecture – Houses (Alterations & Additions)

The Edith Emery Award | Lower Jordan Hill Road | Taylor & Hinds Architects

Chapter Award | Ryde Street House | Bence Mulcahy

Chapter Award | Hampden Rd | Archier

Chapter Commendation | (Gr)ancillary Dwelling | Crump Architects

Chapter Commendation | Symmons Plains | Cumulus Studio

Residential Architecture – Houses (New)

Chapter Commendation | The Stringybark Residence | JAWS Architects

Chapter Commendation | The Lake House | MGArchitecture.Interiors

Sustainable Architecture

The Barry McNeill Award | Ryde Street House | Bence Mulcahy

Chapter Commendation | The Lake House | MGArchitecture.Interiors

Enduring Architecture

Chapter Award | Hobart Animal Hospital | Heffernan Nation Rees Viney Architects

COLORBOND® Award for Steel Architecture

Chapter Award | Kingborough Community Hub | March Studio

Chapter Commendation | Symmons Plains | Cumulus Studio

Chapter Prizes

The Henry Hunter Triennial Prize | Mount Stuart Greenhouse | Bence Mulcahy

President’s Prize | Keith Drew

Emerging Architect Prize | Pippa Jensen | Cumulus Studio

SWT Blythe Student Prize | Lyell’s Lament | Dylan Rowbottom

SWT Blythe Commendation | MONA CONA – City of New Atmospheres | Steph Papastavrou

/Public Release. View in full here.