CFMMEU and six officials hit with $201,500 in penalties over ACT entry breaches

Australian Building and Construction Commission

The Federal Circuit Court in the ACT has penalised the CFMMEU $138,000 and six officials a further $63,500 following breaches of right of entry laws across three apartment project sites in Franklin, Harrison and Wright in 2013 and 2014.

Over a seven-month period CFMMEU officials: Dean Hall, Halafihi Kivalu, Johnny Lomax, Jason O’Mara, Zachary Smith and Kenneth Miller entered the various project sites while failing to show federal entry permits as required, failing to comply with occupational health and safety requirements and hindering workers on one or more of the sites and acting improperly.

Mr Hall, who was then secretary of the CFMMEU ACT, was found to have hindered a concrete pour and to have walked onto the site in Wright unaccompanied, where he also scaled scaffolding in breach of site safety rules. Mr Hall was penalised $27,000 for seven contraventions of the Fair Work Act.

Current ACT secretary, Jason O’Mara was penalised $12,000 for refusing to produce his federal entry permit at one site and failing to comply with an occupational health and safety requirement at another site.


/Public Release.