Councillor Marianne Saliba re-elected as Mayor

Shellharbour City Council has elected Councillor Marianne Saliba as Mayor at an Extraordinary Council meeting last night.

Cr Saliba will remain Mayor until the upcoming local government election on 4 December.

Cr Robert Petreski was voted Deputy Mayor, replacing Cr John Murray, who did not nominate for re-election.

Cr Saliba, who was first elected Mayor in 2012, thanked Cr Murray for his support during his years of service.

“Cr Murray has provided much appreciated support both to me and to the Council during his time as Deputy Mayor,” Cr Saliba said.

“I sincerely thank him for the work that he has done and the contribution he has made to Shellharbour City. I wish him well in his retirement,” she said.

Cr Saliba also congratulated new Deputy Mayor Councillor Robert Petreski.

“I look forward to working with Cr Petreski over the coming months. He has been a valuable colleague during his time on Council and I know that we will continue to work well together,” Cr Saliba said.

Cr Petreski, who was first elected to Shellharbour City Council in 2017, congratulated the Mayor on her re-election and said that he was proud and honoured to be entrusted with the role of Deputy Mayor.

“I would also like to thank my colleagues for their support and acknowledge my predecessor, Cr Murray, for his hard work and commitment,” Cr Petreski said.

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.