COVID-19 Update: Additional NSW hotspots declared

Department of the Chief Minister and Cabinet

The Chief Health Officer has declared additional hotspots in New South Wales for the purposes of travel to the NT, effective from 5pm on 9 July 2021.

New NSW hotspots include:

· Shellharbour City Council

· Hawkesbury City Council

· Wollondilly Shire Council

These additional hotspots have been declared to align our NT border controls with NSW lockdown locations as the outbreak continues to grow, with 44 new COVID-19 cases recorded today.

Anyone travelling to the Northern Territory from a COVID-19 Hotspot and who arrives after the hotspot declaration must undertake 14 days of mandatory, supervised quarantine at the Alice Springs or Howard Springs quarantine facilities.

Current hotspots in NSW and in Queensland remain. There are also a number of quarantine and testing directions in place.

For a full list of COVID-19 hotspots and travel restrictions visit:

The Chief Health Officer will continue to review and assess the COVID-19 situation across Australia, and will take into account COVID-19 monitoring and data collection, the extent of community transmission and risks to the NT community.

The risk of COVID-19 in our communities cannot be eliminated which is why it is important for everyone to follow all health directions.

· Book your COVID-19 vaccine at

· If you have symptoms, stay away from others and get tested for COVID-19.

· Wash your hands with soap and water and use hand sanitiser regularly.

· Do not go to work if you feel sick.

· Maintain a physical distance of 1.5 metres where possible.

To stay up to date with the latest information visit

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.