District Neighbourhood Watch Queensland award recipients honoured

On November 2, Assistant Commissioner Brett Schafferius and Member for Ipswich West Jim Madden MP attended the 2019 Neighbourhood Watch Queensland (NHWQ) state conference to honour members around the state.

The 2019 NHWQ state conference was held in Toowoomba this year, in support of the Queensland Government ‘Year of Outback Tourism Event Program’.

NHWQ works with the Queensland Police Service (QPS) to stop crime, make the community safer and build relationships across the community.

One community member and one police officer from each police district across Queensland were awarded District NHWQ certificates at the event.

A State Community Member and State Liaison Officer were also awarded for their commitment to the group.

Members of the QPS who were awarded for continuously demonstrating their outstanding commitment and service to the community were Sergeant Julie Cooke, Sergeant Stephen Gillinder, Sergeant Erin Gow, Sergeant Matthew Steinhardt, Sergeant Nadine Webster, Senior Constable Kenneth Cahill, Senior Constable James Dolby, Senior Constable Susan Lowndes, Senior Constable Carol Spurdle, Constable Ellen Meagher, Constable Siobhan Rhodes and Senior Police Liaison Officer (SPLO) Rarotonga Tevita.

Assistant Commissioner Schafferius said this award was the highest honour and went to a NHWQ member who had consistently demonstrated their ability to get the job done.

“The award winners have gone above and beyond to work in partnership with the QPS and their community members,” Assistant Commissioner Schafferius said.

“I am very pleased that we are able to formally recognise and congratulate our fellow officers and community members for their good work and long-term commitment to the Service and NHWQ.”

Sergeant Webster also received the State Liaison Officer award for her work on the Safety Road Trip for Seniors initiative. This project secured funding for seniors across South East/West Queensland to educate senior members of the community on towing, driving through roundabouts and driver training sessions.

In addition to the QPS members receiving awards, a further 11 community members were recognised for their contribution to NHWQ.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.