IPART Chair, Dr Peter Boxall, has announced he will retire after more than seven years as Chair of the NSW Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal (IPART).

Dr Boxall will leave IPART in February 2019. IPART CEO, Hugo Harmstorf, paid tribute to Dr Boxall’s contribution.
“Peter has made an outstanding contribution to the consumers, taxpayers and citizens of NSW through high quality decision making. Stakeholders and IPART employees hold him in high regard,” Mr Harmstorf said.
Dr Boxall will be replaced by Dr Paul Paterson, who was previously appointed a member of the Tribunal from October 2013 before taking up the position of Head of the Bureau of Communications Research (BCR), and the Department of Communications’ Chief Economist.
Dr Paterson has more than 40 years’ experience as a professional economist in both the public and private sectors.
Mr Harmstorf said Dr Paterson’s extensive career as an economist in both the private sector and in the state and federal governments, his PhD in Economics and his past work with IPART, make him the ideal appointment to replace Dr Boxall.
“Dr Paterson is already familiar with the role IPART plays in regulating prices and ensuring many of the essential services such as electricity, gas, water and public transport meet the standards expected by the community.
“I am delighted that Dr Paterson has agreed to return to IPART as the new Chair in 2019,” Mr Harmstorf said.
Dr Boxall will remain as IPART Chair until 10 February 2019. Tribunal members Mr Ed Willett and Ms Deborah Cope will remain in their positions.
Dr Paterson’s resume follows
/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length.