Excellence & Innovation in Public Education

Jeremy Rockliff,Minister for Education and Training

Congratulations to the 37 finalists announced in the Together We Inspire Awards 2019.

Now in its eighth year, the Awards program is an opportunity for Tasmanians to publically acknowledge the dedication and commitment of the staff and volunteers who work in Child and Family Centres, schools, colleges, libraries and the business units that support them, and who have demonstrated outstanding excellence, innovation and talent throughout 2018.

Awards such as these are important because they provide a platform to showcase the significant work being undertaken in public education.

The Awards would not be possible without the support of the major sponsor, Tasplan, as well as Teachers Health and Telstra.

Having had the pleasure of attending the Awards ceremony in previous years, I am continually impressed by the talented, diverse and dedicated staff and volunteers working in public education.

I look forward joining all finalists, sponsors, and department representatives at the awards ceremony at the Goods Shed, Macquarie Point later this year.

Together We Inspire Awards Finalists 2019

School Leadership Award

Stuart Dwyer – Flinders Island District School

Bill Jarvis – Claremont College

Cindy-Ann Johnston – Campbell Town District School

Engaging our Learners (Early Learning)

Rowena Wilkinson – Early Childhood Intervention Service

Maddie Hine – Smithton Primary School

Ian Brown – Clarence Plains Child and Family Centre

Engaging our Learners (Primary P-6)

STEAMing with Kommunity Kids – Burnie Library

Scottsdale Primary Leadership Team – Scottsdale Primary School

Annette Langdon – Glen Dhu Primary School

Engaging our Learners (Secondary 7-12)

Shane Parker – Hobart College

All staff – Ulverstone Secondary College

Creating Connections A & B – Hellyer College

Engaging our Learners (Adults)

Iona Johnson – Programs Services and Client Experience

Peter Brake – Launceston Library

Lifelong Learning Team – Burnie Library

Outstanding Early Career Employee

Abby Dillon – Austins Ferry Primary School

Stewart Bell – Beaconsfield Child and Family Centre

Amelia Boughton – Elizabeth College

Outstanding Support Employee of the Year

Dom Monypenny – Hobart College

Wendy Meeks – Bayview Secondary College

Teacher Assistant Team – Huonville High School

Teachers Health Wellbeing Award

Hobart College Health, Physical Education and Outdoor Education Team – Hobart College

Elizabeth College Advanced Academic Diploma (ECAAD) Team – Elizabeth College

Claremont College Wellbeing Team – Claremont College

Telstra Excellence in Innovation Award

The Orb Development Team – Aboriginal Education Services

Matt Eyles – Hobart College

Teacher Recruitment Taskforce – Human Resources

Volunteers of the Year

Sheree Martin – Landsdowne Crescent Primary School

Shelley Charlton – Glenorchy Library

Michael Garner – Cygnet Primary School

Hannah Brand – Waimea Heights Primary School

Literacy Champions

Talking and Language for Kids (T.A.L.K) – Various Schools

Teaching Staff and Senior Leadership – Bridport Primary School

Katrina Hutchinson – Claremont College

Numeracy Champions

Hellyer Collective Maths Cluster – Hellyer College and North West Cluster

Latrobe-Kentish Numeracy Leaders – Sassafras Primary School

Wendy Palfreyman – Risdon Vale Primary School

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.