Finalists named for 2018 Tasmanian Athlete of the Year

Congratulations to the seven Tasmanian athletes vying for this year’s 2018 Tasmanian Athlete of the Year award.

The seven finalists are:

Amy Cure – Cycling (Track)

Eddie Ockenden – Hockey

Jeremy Edwards – Hockey

Rebecca Van Asch – Lawn Bowls

Jacob Birtwhistle – Triathlon

Sarah Hawe – Rowing

Ariarne Titmus – Swimming

All the finalists have won medals at world championships or pinnacle events in their respective sports, including the 2018 Commonwealth Games, and continues Tasmania’s proud record of producing great athletes.

The 2018 Athlete of the Year will be announced at a special cocktail function at Blundstone Arena on Wednesday 28 November 2018.

The 2018 Inductees into the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame will also be recognised at this event.

The Tasmanian Athlete of the Year is supported by Southern Cross Austereo and the Department of Communities Tasmania.

Congratulations once again to the finalists on their success and achievements during the past 12 months. I look forward to joining all of you to announce the winner on November 28.

/Public Release.View in full here.