Hogg and Harris join Infrastructure Australia board

Experienced company director Samantha Hogg and former Productivity Commission Chair Peter Harris AO have been appointed to Infrastructure Australia’s Board.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Infrastructure, Transport and Regional Development Michael McCormack made the announcement today and welcomed the skill and experience of the two new Board appointments.

Ms Hogg has financial management expertise as the former Chief Financial Officer of Transurban Limited and current Chair of TasRail and Tasmanian Irrigation.

She is also a non-executive director of Hydro Tasmania and the Australian Renewable Energy Agency.

Mr Harris was Productivity Commission Chair from 2012 to 2018 and Secretary of the Commonwealth Department of Broadband, Communications and the Digital Economy from 2009 to 2012 and has also served as the Director of Public Transport for the Victorian Government.

Mr McCormack said Ms Hogg and Mr Harris both added a wealth of infrastructure knowledge to Infrastructure Australia’s Board with their experiences in public sector management and governance, economic regulation and reform, water and energy infrastructure and transport infrastructure.

He said Ms Hogg has significant experience in the energy, water and transport infrastructure sectors which are of critical importance to sustaining and supporting communities, towns and cities.

Mr Harris is also well-credentialled in areas that will benefit Infrastructure Australia’s important role in providing independent strategic advice to governments, he said.

“Infrastructure Australia plays an extremely important role as the body responsible for providing independent advice on Australia’s infrastructure priorities and policy reforms,” Mr McCormack said.

“The appointments of Ms Hogg and Mr Harris to the Board will help ensure Infrastructure Australia continues to provide the high-quality advice the Government requires to make informed decisions about major infrastructure investments.”

The Government has also recently re-appointed Garbielle Trainor AO and Peter Corish AM to the Infrastructure Australia Board.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s). View in full here.