Kapunda, Orroroo, Booleroo Centre, Mypolonga and Kimba vie for Ag Town title

After more than 3,000 public votes, five towns across the Mid North, Murray Mallee and Eyre Peninsula have been selected as finalists for the 2021 Agricultural Town of the Year award.

Kapunda, Orroroo, Booleroo Centre, Mypolonga and Kimba are in the running for the title after more than 3,200 public votes were cast for the 59 nominated towns across South Australia.

Minister for Primary Industries and Regional Development David Basham said the five finalists represent communities which are home to a diverse range of agriculture.

“The Ag Town of the Year Award recognises the important role our farmers and the agriculture sector plays in everyday lives of regional communities,” Minister Basham said.

“It is pleasing to have thousands of people again engaged in the awards program, supporting their favourite agricultural town.

“Every town nominated for this award should be immensely proud of what their community has achieved and will continue to achieve in the face of significant challenges, such as COVID-19 restrictions and drought.

“Incredibly Kapunda has been a finalist every year since the award was introduced in 2019, which speaks volumes for the community’s support. Kimba has also been a finalist before, and I welcome the addition this year of Mypolonga, Orroroo, and Booleroo Centre to the top five.

“As the next part of the award program, an independent panel of experienced judges will visit the five finalist towns in October this year.

“South Australia’s primary industries and agribusiness generated $15.2 billion in revenue in 2018–19, making this sector a critical economic driver for South Australia as well as being important to the wellbeing of the state as a whole.

“That’s why we are focussing on boosting our food, wine and agribusiness through our Growth State initiative, which aims to grow these sectors to $23 billion by 2030. The Marshall Liberal Government has mapped out a strong pathway forward through the Growth State initiative in conjunction with the Regional Development Strategy.”

The judging panel is made up of John Rothwell (Royal Agricultural and Horticultural Society of SA), Hon Rob Kerin (Regional Development South Australia), Mayor Erika Vickery (South Australian Regional Organisation of Councils), Belinda Cay (AgCommunicators), Nikolai Beilharz (ABC Rural) and Rilka Warbanoff (Australia-Israel Chamber of Commerce-SA).

The announcement of the 2021 Agricultural Town of the Year is scheduled for Friday 19 November 2021 at the Regional Showcase.

For more information on the Ag Town of the Year award, visit www.agtown.com.au

/Public News. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).