Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards 2019

Mayor Amanda Findley has congratulated NAIDOC awards recipients and organisers of the 2019 NAIDOC award in a special Mayoral Minute at Council’s Ordinary Meeting on Tuesday, 27 August 2019.

Mayor Findley hailed this year’s event a success for the Shoalhaven and praised partnering Council’s involvement in the awards.

“It’s great to see these awards are getting bigger and bigger every year, not just with attendee numbers but also award nominations.” Clr Findley said.

“I want to thank Margaret Simoes, Shoalhaven City Council’s Aboriginal Community Development Officer and her team for organising the 9th Annual Local Government Regional NAIDOC Awards on 27 July. The annual event is a collaborative effort by Shoalhaven, Kiama Municipally Council, Shellharbour City Council and Wollongong City Council.

“We have received overwhelming feedback from the community congratulating Shoalhaven City Council on a fantastic night, where an outstanding 360 people from across the four LGA’s attended. Many attendees personally told me this was the best NAIDOC Awards they have attended.

“The prestigious awards give the community an opportunity to celebrate the contribution and achievements of individuals and organisations across the four local government areas.

“I want to thank Wollongong, Shellharbour and Kiama Council for their collaboration in making the evening a night to remember.” Clr Findley said.

Shoalhaven City Council would also like to thank Aboriginal Affairs NSW and the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet who provided grant funding in support of the awards and, to our sponsors that made this event possible; South Coast Medical Service Aboriginal Corporation, Waminda South Coast Women’s Health and Welfare Aboriginal Corporation, Southern Youth & Family Services, St Vincent De Paul, Identity Design Services , Bendigo Bank Nowra, Booth Partners, Manildra Group, The Disability Trust, Kiama Community College, BlueScope Win Community Partners, Community Industry Group.

Shoalhaven City Council would like to congratulate;

Young Achiever of the Year – Female Kalinda Wills

Young Achiever of the Year – Male Balunn Simon

Community Volunteer of the Year Layne Brown

Outstanding Contribution to Reconciliation Noel Butler

Elder of the Year – Female Aunty Lynn Wellington

Elder of the Year – Male Uncle Brian Green

Organisation of the Year Oolong Aboriginal Corporation

Worker of the Year Charlie Ashby

Download photos from the NAIDOC Awards on Council’s flicker page

/Public Release. View in full here.