Melbourne City FC claim Westfield W-League Premiership

Melbourne City FC have claimed their second Westfield W-League Premiership following their 4-0 victory over the Western Sydney Wanderers this evening at Marconi Stadium.

Melbourne City FC opened the scoring in the 12th minute when Claire Emslie converted her penalty after being fouled by Alex Huynh. Ellie Carpenter doubled Melbourne City’s lead on the half hour mark with a well-placed shot to the bottom left corner of the Wanderers goal. Ellie doubled her tally in the 63rd minute and Ally Watt scored in the 86th minute to seal the important win.

FFA Head of Leagues, Greg O’Rourke, congratulated Melbourne City FC on their historic title victory.

“Melbourne City FC have been the benchmark team throughout the Westfield W-League 2019/20 Season,” said O’Rourke.

“The investment the Club has made on and off the park has set the benchmark for Women’s Football in Australia and continues to be rewarded.

“Our congratulations goes to Melbourne City’s Head Coach Rado Vidosic, his coaching staff, captain Steph Catley and all the players for their outstanding performances throughout the Westfield W-League 2019/20 season.

“We also congratulate Melbourne City CEO Brad Rowse and all the club’s support staff for their efforts and contributions to help this team claim their second Westfield W-League Premiership.

“We all now turn our attention to the Westfield W-League 2020 Finals Series to see if Melbourne City can do the double and claim their fourth Westfield W-League Championship,” concluded O’Rourke.

Match details of the Westfield W-League 2020 Finals Series will be announced once final placings are confirmed.

The winners of the two Westfield W-League 2020 Semi Finals will meet in the Westfield W-League 2020 Grand Final.

The Westfield W-League 2020 Finals Series will be broadcast live on FOX SPORTS, ABC TV, Kayo and the My Football Live App.

/Public Release. View in full here.