Men’s and Women’s Prime Minister’s XIII Announced


The Hon Scott Morrison

In-conjunction with the National Rugby League (NRL), I am pleased to announce the Prime Minister’s XIII squads which will take part in annual games against Papua New Guinea in Port Moresby on October 6.

The PMs XIII concept is an annual fixture which was first established in 2005 to help PNG celebrate 30 years of independence.

This year, in recognition of the surge in female participation in rugby league, a PMs XIII squad for women has been named for the first time.

The squads will be led by experienced and exceptional rugby league coaches and captains.

World Cup winning Jillaroo and Indigenous All Stars captain Rebecca Young will captain the women’s squad which is coached by Brad Donald.

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles skipper and Queensland Origin representative Daly Cherry-Evans will captain the men’s squad which is coached by Mal Meninga.

The squads will arrive in Port Moresby next Thursday and are being supported by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT).

While I would love to be there to cheer on both squads, I will be following the games very closely from home.

I’d also like to congratulate the players who have been selected to play for the PNG Kumuls and Orchids and wish all teams the very best.


Australian PM’s XIII Men’s Squad:

Corey Allan (Brisbane Broncos)

Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)

Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)

Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Tyson Frizell (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Ben Hunt (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Brian Kelly (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Zac Lomax (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Jordan McLean (North Queensland Cowboys)

Tyrone Peachey (Penrith Panthers)

Matt Prior (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Jesse Ramien (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Reece Robson (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Gehamat Shibasaki (Brisbane Broncos)

Chad Townsend (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)

Jake Trbojevic (Manly Warringah Sea Eagles)

Enari Tuala (North Queensland Cowboys)

Aaron Woods (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)


Australian PM’s XIII Women’s Squad:

Keeley Davis (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Quincy Dodd (Sydney Roosters)

Sally Dwyer (Parkes Spacemen)

Aaliyah Fasavalu-Fa’amausili (Cabramatta)

Najvada George (Werribee Bears – VIC)

Rikeya Horne (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Melanie Howard (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Asipau Mafi (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Talesha Quinn (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Michaela Peck (ADF)

Patricia Raikadroka (Mounties)

Rhiannon Revell-Blair (Brothers Ipswich)

Hannah Southwell (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Sarah Togatuki (Sydney Roosters)

Shakiah Tungai (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Juraea Turner (Ellenbrook Rabbitohs – WA)

Holli Wheeler (St. George Illawarra Dragons)

Eliza Wilson (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)

Rebecca Young (CRL Newcastle)

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.