Nathan rides high in saddle

Nathan rides high in the saddle

Award winner Nathan Harvey with Australian Swimming legend Laurie Lawrence

Equestrian Nathan Harvey has been crowned Logan’s top sportsperson.

Nathan won two gold medals in Dressage and English Equitation at the Special Olympics World Games in Abu Dhabi in March.

He represented Australia after winning a gold, silver and bronze at the Nationals in South Australia last year.

Nathan was presented with his award at the City of Logan Sports Awards gala presentation ceremony on Saturday night.

Along with being awarded the Sportsperson of the Year, Nathan was also acknowledged as the Elite Athlete with Disability for 2019.

The City of Logan Sports Awards were hosted by Channel Nine’s Cameron Williams at a packed Logan Metro Sports & Events Centre.

Administrators, coaches, players, volunteers and officials across 12 categories were recognised for their efforts.

This year’s City of Logan Sports Awards attracted a record field of 158 nominations.

Decathlete Ashley Moloney stayed in the winner’s circle by taking out Sportsman of the Year.

It’s his fourth City of Logan Sports Award.

He won Young Sportsman in 2016 and 2018 and Sportsperson of the Year in 2018.

Ashley is vying to represent Australia at next year’s Tokyo Olympics.

One of the highlights of the night was the keynote address by Amna Karra-Hassan.

Amna founded the first ever Western Sydney Women’s AFL team.

She is also an advocate for encouraging women and girls of all backgrounds to play sport.

Elite women’s sports stars Katie Brennan and Clare Polkinghorne took part in a lively panel discussion.

Katie was the previous captain of the Western Bulldogs for the AFL Women’s inaugural season. She is now signed with the Richmond Tigers.

Matildas representative Clare Polkinghorne was recognised for an outstanding year as captain of the Brisbane Roar W-League team with the Sportswoman of the Year award.

Sportsperson of the Year – Nathan Harvey, equestrian

Sportsman of the Year – Ashley Moloney, decathlete

Sportswoman of the Year – Clare Polkinghorne, football

Elite Athlete with Disability – Nathan Harvey, equestrian

Master Sportsperson of the Year – David King, martial arts

Male Young Sportsperson of the Year – Connor Gillen, martial arts

Female Young Sportsperson of the Year – Lyvante Su’emai, field athlete

Sports Organisation of the Year – Logan Hockey Club

Sports Event of the Year – Australian Indigenous Football Championships

Sports Team of the Year – Brisbane Roar Youth Team

Sports Coach of the Year – Bradley Hindle, squash

Sports Administrator of the Year – Janet Coleman, Underwood Park Netball Association

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.