New appointments to Australian Heritage Council

The Hon Sussan Ley MP
Minister for the Environment

Five distinguished Australians have been appointed to the Australian Heritage Council including a new chair, former Victorian Premier Ted Baillieu AO.

The other appointees are Indigenous heritage expert members Leah Cameron and Jamie Lowe, and historic heritage experts Professor Helen Lochhead and Professor Elizabeth Vines OAM.

Minister for the Environment Sussan Ley expressed her gratitude to the outgoing members of the council including current chair Dr David Kemp who will depart after two terms.

“I would like to thank Dr Kemp for his invaluable commitment to heritage conservation, protection and celebration of Australia’s unique heritage,” Minster Ley said.

“I would also like to thank cultural heritage experts, Dr Jane Harrington, Rachel Perkins and Dr Lyndon Ormond-Parker, who have also completed their second and final terms on the council.

“Over the last six years as chair, Dr Kemp and the other members of the council have provided independent advice on a range of nationally important heritage sites.

“They should be particularly proud that they have contributed significant foundational work promoting Indigenous heritage as a key part of Australia’s national identity which will see an increase of Indigenous cultural heritage sites represented on the National Heritage List.

“I look forward to continuing to work with the Australian Heritage Council to identify, protect and conserve our most important heritage sites,” Minister Ley said.

The Australian Heritage Council is the principal adviser to the Australian Government on heritage matters, assessing nominations for the National Heritage List and Commonwealth Heritage List.

/Public Release. This material comes from the originating organization/author(s)and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.