New Chair for TasRail

Michael Ferguson,Minister for Infrastructure and Transport

As Minister for Infrastructure and Transport, I’m pleased to announce that Mr Stephen Cantwell has been appointed as Chair of TasRail from 1 January 2020.

Mr Cantwell is a current TasRail Director and brings a wealth of operational experience with freight rail, heavy industry, mining and ports. With the delivery of tranches Two and Three of the Freight Rail Revitalisation Program (FRRP), a new shiploader to build and new customer projects all occurring in the next four years, Stephen’s operational and commercial know-how will be a great asset to TasRail.

I would like to take the opportunity to thank outgoing Chair, Ms Samantha Hogg, for her dedication and contribution to TasRail over the past four and a half years.

Ms Hogg has been instrumental in providing oversight of the financial governance and risk management practices at TasRail, helping to set it up for future success. As TasRail’s second ever Chair, she has overseen the successful delivery of Tranche One of the FRRP and I wish her well in her future endeavours.

/Public Release. View in full here.