Nominations now open for 2022 Colac Otway Shire Community Awards

Mayor Kate Hanson with flowers web.jpg

Entries are now open for the 2022 Colac Otway Shire Community Awards with residents encouraged to nominate their local heroes.

Council is asking for nominations across three categories, Community Service Award (individual or group), Young Citizen of the Year and Citizen of the Year to recognise the commitment of community-minded residents who have made a significant contribution to the shire.

Mayor Kate Hanson said the awards are an opportunity to acknowledge those who work hard for the benefit of our towns and small communities.

“In my role as Mayor, I’m lucky to meet a diverse range of wonderful and dedicated people from all across the shire who make valuable contributions toward this being a great region in which to live.

“There are many inspiring individuals and groups in our community who go above and beyond to provide opportunities or support to people of the Colac Otway community. Sometimes this goes unnoticed and this is the community’s opportunity to shine a light on their achievements.

“These awards are a chance to say thank you to those who have a positive impact to improve the lives and wellbeing of others.

“Making a difference in your community may take many forms, so take the time to think about those people you know who might be quietly going about their day to day making a difference in our region.

“This year, for the first time, the awards ceremony will be a part of the Colac Kana Festival in March. We’re looking forward to an inclusive community event with many people able to come along and celebrate local award winners,” Cr Hanson said.

Nominations open Friday 14 January with online forms (and guidelines) available via Council’s website at

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) might be of the point-in-time nature, and edited for clarity, style and length. Mirage.News does not take institutional positions or sides, and all views, positions, and conclusions expressed herein are solely those of the author(s).View in full here.