NSW Tourism Awards finalists highlight industry leaders

A total 146 entrants nominated for the awards across 26 categories including tourist attractions, festivals and events, ecotourism, new tourism business, destination marketing, accommodation and excellence in accessible tourism.

In its 30th year, the NSW Tourism Awards acknowledge tourism businesses that demonstrate outstanding achievement throughout the year.

Minister for Jobs, Investment, Tourism and Western Sydney Stuart Ayres said NSW’s strong visitor economy is testament to the work of these exceptional operators.

“The NSW Government has set an ambitious target of delivering $55 billion in overnight visitor expenditure for the State’s economy by 2030, and the calibre of industry leaders recognised by these awards give me great confidence that we will surpass that target,” Minister Ayres said.

The awards are managed by the NSW Business Chamber’s Tourism Industry Division and supported by the NSW Government’s tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW.

Destination NSW Chief Executive Officer Sandra Chipchase said the State’s tourism businesses had shown great vision and professionalism in building NSW’s record as the country’s top State for visitation.

“From hospitality to accommodation providers, tour and experience leaders to event owners, it is the people behind NSW’s tourism industry that keep us on top in terms of international and domestic visitation in Australia,” Ms Chipchase said.

NSW Business Chamber Chief Executive Officer Stephen Cartwright said the NSW Tourism Awards were the most prestigious accolades for the industry.

“We’re thrilled to see so many businesses entering the Awards again this year, many for the first time, to benchmark their business against peers and gain recognition for their accomplishments and innovation,” Mr Cartwright said.

The winners of the 2019 NSW Tourism Awards will be announced at a Gala Dinner on 14 November at the Four Seasons Hotel. Gold Medal winners go on to represent NSW at the Qantas Australian Tourism Awards held in Canberra in March 2020.

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.