Officers decorated at Townsville District medal ceremony

Minister for Police and Minister for Corrective Services, the Honourable Mark Ryan MP joined Commissioner Katarina Carroll today in congratulating Queensland Police Service officers and staff members at the Townsville District medal presentation ceremony held at the Cathedral School of St Anne and St James.

The medals and awards ceremony acknowledged the accomplishments of QPS officers and staff members in relation to significant events.

Minister Ryan said that all award recipients exhibited professionalism and a strong commitment to the community.

“Today’s recipients display a high level of dedication to duty that gives the Queensland public continued confidence in their policing service,” Minister Ryan said.

“They are a credit to the community that they serve.”

Six members were presented with the National Police Service Medal which acknowledges past and future commitment to ethical and diligent service.

The following officers received the National Police Service Medal; Senior Sergeant Dean Cavanagh, Senior Sergeant John Todd, Sergeant Leigh James, Detective Senior Constable Heather Gordon, Senior Constable William Layt and Senior Constable Sherrene Watterson.

Senior Sergeant Kylee Haydon was awarded the QPS 2nd Clasp to National Medal.

Inspector Roger Whyte was awarded his 35-year Clasp to the QPS National Medal. Senior Sergeant Brett Humphreys and Senior Sergeant Darren Randall received their 30-year Clasp to the QPS National Medal. Senior Constable Julen Uriarte and Constable Matthew Woodham received their 15-year Clasp to the QPS National Medal.

Senior Constable Vasili Kalligeros, Senior Constable John Matthews, Senior Constable Joel Whittred, Senior Constable David York, Constable Woodham and Mrs Samantha Orrin were awarded the QPS Medal.

Constable Woodham also received the QPS Bravery Medal.

Sergeant Matthew Pegg, Sergeant Rebekah Spink, Senior Constable Joseph Harris, Senior Constable Michael Rennie and Mr Mark Fenlon received Commissioner’s Certificates.

The following officers received the QPS Assistant Commissioner’s Certificate; Inspector Damien Crosby, Inspector Tyler Crosby, Senior Sergeant Stephen Batterham, Senior Sergeant Cavanagh, Senior Sergeant Mark Hogenelst, Sergeant Nicholas Boyle, Sergeant Douglas Koekemoer, Sergeant Ryan Thompson, Senior Constable Christine Beattie, Senior Constable Roger Brown, Senior Constable Brett Gatehouse, Senior Constable Wade Hastie, Senior Constable Jarrod Townsend, Constable Mark Campbell, Constable Kane Nord, Constable Fraser Northey, Constable William Rose, Constable Shane Smale and Constable Cameron Waters.

Senior Constable Watterson and Constable Evan Rolley were awarded the QPS District Officer’s Certificate.

Plain Clothes Senior Constables Jennifer Fraser, Anthony Kirkham and Thomas Wilson each received the QPS Detective Certificate.

Constable Shannon Luke was the regional winner and Constable Noel Dwyer was the regional finalist of the QPS 2019 Inspector David Stevenson Field Training Officer Award.

The following external people also received the Assistant Commissioner’s Certificate of Appreciation Award; Mr Bjorn Camp, Mr Paul Harvey, Mr Zane Hicks, Mr Kyle Keighery, Mr Daniel Korn, Mr Terrence Lepinath, Mr Lesley Thimble, Mr Bernard Tracey and Mr Charles Wilson.

Commissioner Carroll said that it was a privilege to have our police acknowledged for their bravery and commitment to Queensland.

“Through their careers, each of these recipients have displayed the desired and exemplary attributes of QPS officers,” Commissioner Carroll said.

“The outstanding level of dedication of each officer and staff member here today demonstrates their contribution to our organisation making it one of the finest policing services in Australia.”

/Public Release. The material in this public release comes from the originating organization and may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. View in full here.