Rugby Australia Awards to be announced in week-long celebration

Rugby Au

The 2021 Rugby Australia Awards will be announced via a week-long celebration, recognising the achievements of the past season, as the Rugby community prepares for an exciting 2022.

With daily announcements on Rugby Australia’s social media platforms from Monday 31 January to Sunday 6 February, the campaign will provide an opportunity to acknowledge achievements across the game, from both the grassroots and professional levels.

Rugby Australia CEO Andy Marinos said: “While we are incredibly disappointed to not be hosting these awards in person, this is an opportunity to celebrate our great game and all the people who make it possible.

“Over the course of next week, across Rugby Australia’s digital channels, we will be reflecting on the achievements of some very special contributors to Rugby across the country, both on and off the field. This is a special occasion for all involved.

“The celebration of the 2021 Rugby Australia Awards is a fantastic way to acknowledge what was a huge year for the game, while also getting excited for what is to come in 2022.

“We’ve got a massive year ahead of us,with the inaugural season of Super Rugby Pacific and new-look Super W just around the corner, a highly anticipated inbound Test series against England, the Commonwealth Games in England and RWC Sevens in South Africa, the Women’s Rugby World Cup in New Zealand and the potential to be confirmed as hosts for the 2027 Rugby World Cup all on the horizon.”

2021 Rugby Australia Awards schedule

Monday 31 January – Wallabies Hall of Fame

Tuesday 1 February – Volunteer of the Year, Joe French Award for Outstanding Contribution to Rugby, Geoff ‘Bunter’ Shaw Community Coach of the Year Award, Nick Farr-Jones Spirit of Rugby

Wednesday 2 February – Buildcorp Super W and Harvey Norman Super Rugby Players of the Year

Thursday 3 February – Fedex Referee of the Year

Friday 4 February – Rookie of the Year and Cadbury Try of the Year

Saturday 5 February – Shawn Mackay Award, Men’s and Women’s Sevens Players of the Year

Sunday 6 February – John Eales Medal

/Public Release. This material from the originating organization/author(s) may be of a point-in-time nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author(s).View in full here.